List of islands in the Persian Gulf

The Persian Gulf is home to many islands, mostly small, distributed in the gulf’s entire geographic area and administered by the neighboring nations. Most islands are sparsely populated, with some being barren, and some utilized for communication, military, or as ship docks. Some of the islands in the Persian Gulf are artificially constructed islands. The artificial islands often serve as tourist resorts, housing developments, or hotels. Despite their small sizes, some of these artificial islands have caused serious hazards for the already fragile ecosystem of the Gulf and its dwindling wildlife mass. A few of the Gulf islands are also historically significant, having been utilized by the ancient empires, neighboring kingdoms, and in recent times, colonial powers such as the British empire, and the Portuguese empire. Recent globalization, and discovery of oil, has made some of the Persian Gulf islands very significant for developed nations as a source of oil and raw industrial material. Recent wars, and political unrest has also made these islands strategic military locations for foreign powers from America and Europe.

Some islands in the Persian Gulf are nations themselves; Bahrain, an independent Gulf state, is the only Persian Gulf country that is also an island.


  • Abu Musa
  • Greater Tunb 
  • Lesser Tunb
  • Abbasak Island (Shah Zendegi)
  • Buneh Island
  • Cheraghi Island
  • Dara Island
  • Farsi Island
  • Forur Bozorg Island (Polour)
  • Forur Koochak Island (Forurgan)
  • Hendurabi Island
  • Hengam Island
  • Hormuz Island
  • Jonobi Island (Mir Mohna Island)
  • Kharg Island (Khark)
  • Kharku Island
  • Kish Island
  • Larak Island
  • Lavan Island
  • Minu Island
  • Morghi Island
  • Motaff Island
  • Mouliaat Island
  • Naaz Islands
  • Nakhiloo Island
  • Negin Island
  • Om e Sile Island (Khan)
  • Ommolkorm Island (Gorm)
  • Qabre Nakhoda Island
  • Qeshm Island
  • Rostam Island (Reshadat oil field platform)
  • Sadra Island
  • SeDandon Island
  • Sheykh Andarabi Island
  • Shidvar Island
  • Shif Island
  • Sirri Island
  • Tahmadu Island (Jabrin)


  • Auhah Island
  • Bubiyan Island
  • Failaka Island
  • Kubbar Island
  • Miskan Island
  • Qaruh Island
  • Umm al Maradim Island
  • Umm an Namil Island
  • Warbah Island
  • Green Island

Saudi Arabia

  • Arabia Island
  • Tarout Island
  • Huwaisat Island
  • Mashaab Island
  • Paradise Island
  • Muslimyah Island
  • Qumairi Island
  • Jana Island
  • Grid Island
  • Crane Island
  • Couscous island
  • Al Bayna Island
  • Abu Ali Island
  • Darien Island

United Arab Emirates

  • Daiyina
  • Das
  • Dalma
  • Arzanah
  • Al Qaffāy
  • Sir Abu Nu’ayr
  • Zirku Island


  • Amwaj Islands
  • Bahrain Island
  • Hawar Islands
  • Jidda Island
  • Muharraq Island
  • Nabih Saleh
  • Sitra
  • Umm an Nasan
  • Umm as Sabaan
Rate this post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *